C45 Hamon

30cal Fun

Mitglied
Hi,

I am trying to get good steel for Japanese style blades like Tanto's and I after a tip from a member here I found "C45 Spieenstaal". Here is the link: http://www.meeuwsen.nl/catalogus/serie.php?b_id=14&h_id=&a_id=103&s_id=228

Has anyone used C45 steel to make blades with a Hamon?
Is this steel good for creating a Hamon?
If anyone has pictures, please show them.

It is sometimes also called Ck45 or C45K, are these just different names, or is the steel a little different too?

Thanks for any help, mit freundlichen Grüßen aus die Niederlanden, Louis

Last edited:
I think most people wouldnt reccomend c45 or ck45 (only difference ck45 is slightly less "polluted") for any kind of knives, just because of the lower hardness and therefore lesser capability to keep its sharpness. I have no experience with hamons at all, so i can only guess. The relativly low amount of carbon, which will produce the martensite structure in and near the edge (if correktly tempered) may be too small to be well seen. But this is only a guess. On the other hand, c45 is already "soft" (about 55 degree rockwell c) in comparison to other knife-steels, so a differential heat treating for this kind of steel is not as effekcive as it may occur to you.

In addition comes, that the correct polishing technique is crucial for the hamon to be seen. Only correct polishing will bring out the different strucures in the steel.